Theft Bail Bonds
If you have been arrested on a theft charge, immediately contact a licensed bail bonds agent to get bailed out and get back home as quickly as possible. The bondsmen at A Heaven Sent Bail Bonds are specialists in theft bail bonds in Sarasota and Bradenton as well as the rest of Florida. Our staff is available 24/7, so we can help you get bailed out regardless of when your arrest occurs. Additionally, A Heaven Sent Bail Bonds offers mobile services, so we can meet you at a location if you can’t make it to our office. Let us put our experience and expertise to work for you and see the results for yourself.
How is Theft Classified?
Under Florida law, theft is defined in two ways:
- as the taking or use of someone else’s property in an attempt to permanently or temporarily divest someone of their property or the benefit of their property
- to appropriate the use of someone else’s property for the use of someone not designated to benefit from the property.
Criminal Classifications of Theft
Instead of the commonly used term petty theft, in Florida, the lowest level of theft crimes are designated as petit theft.
Petit Theft of the Second Degree:
- second-degree misdemeanor
- the stolen property is valued at less than $100
- no more than 60 days in jail
- fine no greater than $500
Petit Theft of the Fist Degree:
- first-degree misdemeanor
- stolen property valued between $100 and $300
- no more than one year in jail
- fine not to exceed $1,000
Grand Theft of the Third Degree:
- third-degree felony
- stolen property valued between $300 and $19,999
- a variety of specified miscellaneous property (consult Fla. Stat. Ann. § 812.014. for specifics)
- incarceration not to exceed 5 years
- fine no greater than $5,000
Grand Theft of the Second Degree:
- second-degree felony
- stolen property valued between $20,000 and $100,000
- goods that have entered inter or intrastate commerce valued at under $50,000
- emergency medical or law enforcement equipment valued at over $300
- jail time no greater than 15 years
- fine not to exceed $10,000
Grand Theft of the First Degree:
- first-degree felony
- property valued at $100,000 or greater
- semitrailer in use by a law enforcement official
- goods that have entered inter or intrastate commerce valued at over $50,000
- any grand theft where the perpetrator uses a motor vehicle as a criminal device, resulting in over $1,000 in damage
- incarceration for no longer than 30 years
- fine up to $10,000
Don’t sit in jail a moment longer than you have to; exercise your right to bail. Contact A Heaven Sent Bail Bonds for assistance with theft bail bonds in Sarasota and Bradenton to get bailed out now.